Jiving on Regardless











{February 17, 2009}   Fun and Plans

This week has been a bit of a baptism by fire as it’s half term and my first week completely on my own with the kids.  It’s not too bad but by this time (3pm) I am feeling exhausted and struggling with the rest of the day.  It is reminiscent of the old days but I am pleased that this is a temporary situation and soon I will have all the energy in the world – woo hoo!!!

All is good on the pouch front.  I go approximately 5-10 times a day, dependent on what I eat and how I feel. Most of the time it is semi-solid which I know my surgeon will be pretty chuffed with!  This is no longer a result of being on codeine as I am no longer taking the stuff it is purely good bowel function *round of applause*. I occasionally need to go once in the night but most nights I don’t go at all.  If I do have to go it is over and done with in about 30 seconds – gone are those days of 30 minutes plus on the toilet. How the hell I ever managed to find the time to do anything when I had UC I shall never know.

All in all, I am on the up and quite unbelievably this whole journey with UC is pretty much over.  It has taken ten years and I still can’t get my head around the fact that we no longer have the UC axe waiting to fall.  We are actually planning our first holiday abroad in six years as for the first time we feel confident that we can book something and not end up cancelling it due to me being ill – how cool is that?  It’s even better as we are going to celebrate our ten year anniversary (six months early) by going to Las Vegas for one week just me and hubby (going six months early as we couldn’t afford to celebrate NYE in Las Vegas and we also want to be with the kids at the real time).  I am SOOOOOOO excited.  It isn’t booked yet but we have pretty much agreed what we want to do , just need to tie up the finances and get it booked – yayyyyy!!

I have loads to look  forward to.  After years of not planning more than a month in advance we have gone planning mad.  March we are off for an Intensive West Coast Swing weekend, April either a spa break or another dance weekend, May we are seeing Eric Clapton at the Albert Hall (a life long ambition – he just rocks!) and June it is our birthdays so we will be doing some celebrating and I am off to Ascot Ladies Day with my Mum (hat yet to bought).  Then in July/August Las Vegas baby!!!!  We have gone mad but we deserve it.  It has been hell of a ride and the end of it needs acknowledging and any excuse to celebrate and make good will be taken with absolute enthusiasm.  I am going to celebrate for at least a year (and in reality, the rest of my life).

Right, off to cook the dinner – so much for the exciting life :-)))



et cetera